On-Core Software
September 20, 2019, 03:33:00 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setup new client that has clients, projects and tasks to be import into QB  (Read 5590 times)
mzipperer
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: January 04, 2012, 11:14:53 pm »

Hi,

I sub contract to a customer of mine to do work for their customers. So I set up my customer as the "Client" then I setup their client as the "Project" and then the "Tasks" as driving, Onsite support or remote support.  The problem comes in when I try import these jobs into Quickbooks.  I get "error in line 2" and then the information is not complete in the time Weekly Time  Sheet in Quickbooks.

On thing I notice is that there is a "x" after the "Project" name when I start a new entry on the IPAd. So it seems that something is not setup correctly but I cannot figure  out what.  Any help would be appreciated. Thank you, Mark
Logged
Adam
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 988



« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 11:25:38 pm »

I'm not exactly sure what the "x" is that you are talking about, but would guess that you typed the letter X at the end of the name.

Please keep in mind that Time Master maps to QB as follows.
TM -> QB
------------------
Clients -> Customers
Projects -> Jobs
Tasks -> Items

Jobs are a sub-category of Customers.

You probably do have some odd character in your descriptions that may be trowing things off.  If you want, email us your IIF file and we can try to import it and see what the issue is.
Logged
mzipperer
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 09:39:14 am »

I will try to describe the "x" although it may be a red herring. Any go to "Time Entries" I select a client and then in the "Project" line there is the "Optional" in green text.  I select the "Optional" and then fill in the "Project".  After doing so I am returned to the "Add Entry" screen.  In the "Client" line after my client's name there is ">", however, in the "Project" line after the given name for the project there is an "x" inside a greyed circle.

I will email the iif. 

Thank you for your time on this. 
Logged
mzipperer
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 09:44:01 am »

Here is the iif
Logged
Adam
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 988



« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 07:30:52 pm »

Sorry for the delay getting back to you.  The "X" that your are seeing is the way that you clear out fields on the Apple iOS.  You probably have some other apps that have the same thing.  Tap on the grey X and it will clear out the field.  That is not part of the text.

You QB IIF file is ok.  I suspect that you are not importing it correctly.  As Ernesto stated in the post just before yours:

Please use the "File->Utilities->Import->IIF Files..." menu option to import the IIF file.

You're probably using "File->Utilities->Import->Timer Activities", which causes that error.

Also keep in mind that you must have entered yourself as an Employee in both Time Master and in Quickbooks.  If you are not exporting the Clients and Tasks (Customers and Items respectively), the records will probably not import into QB.  You would have to created those records first before importing.

Hope that helps?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!