On-Core Software
August 21, 2019, 01:13:47 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Description in QuickBooks disappears after I import from TimeMaster  (Read 6102 times)
Provare
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: February 07, 2011, 12:43:58 pm »

I have Time Master 3.8 with the Quickbooks module on my iPad.  It seems that every time I import my IIF file for my timesheet into Quickbooks, the Description field for the Service Item disappears.  Is there a field in Time Master where I can copy the Item Description so that Quickbooks doesn't erase it every time?  I need the descriptions in order for the invoices to print properly.  If this can't be fixed, I've basically wasted the $ I paid for the Quickbooks module - granted it isn't much, but this will add A LOT of time to my time reporting that this app was supposed to fix for me as I'll have to re-record everything by hand.

Thanks for your help!
Logged
Ernesto
Administrator
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 83



« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 01:02:32 pm »

Hello

Unfortunately QuickBooks overwrites the entire Item record when it matches the same Item name on the IIF file. I wish we could do something about that.

What you can do to avoid this is to disable exporting Items in TimeMaster (uncheck Setup->Quickbooks->Export Items).
Some versions of QuickBooks will automatically create a new Item for you when it can't find an Item referenced by a time record, but some other versions require you to have that Item already present. Please, see how your version behaves.

If it add them automatically, then you only need to edit the rate for the Item and add whatever description you want.
If it doesn't, you will need to add it manually.

Thanks,
Ernesto.
Logged
Provare
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2011, 01:13:18 pm »

I appreciate the quick reply.  Unfortunately, being able to export my timesheet directly to Quickbooks was the only reason I bought the Quickbooks module.  If QBs won't import this properly (by which I mean I don't have to do anything manually), then the Quickbooks module is useless for me.  Oh well, at least it was only a few bucks.
Logged
Ernesto
Administrator
Jr. Member
*****
Posts: 83



« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2011, 02:03:11 pm »

We don't even send an 'empty' description field on the IIF... It's just silly they clear it out.  Undecided

Just out of curiosity, do you export your Projects or Tasks as Items?

Would it help if we were to export the "Note" field on either as the QB Item description?

Thanks,
Ernesto.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!