On-Core Software

Time Master - Android => Time Master Sync Module => Topic started by: thedave on January 09, 2017, 03:36:13 pm



Title: One Way Sync destroying my data
Post by: thedave on January 09, 2017, 03:36:13 pm
i am trying to get the sync working between my employee's time master and my own.

i purged the database of all entries and uploaded that for him.  I entered in  a test entry and did a one way sync.  first thing it does is "Synchronizing Deletions" and that wipes out all the entries in my database.  of course i'm backed up, so that's not a problem, but i need to be able to sync just once, or find a way to get to the point where the system either doesn't consider those records as deleted, or does a one-way sync and ignores deleted records.

is there something that can be done here.  i love using time master, and have bought it for every platform it works on, for myself and my employee.  however, at this point, i'm going crazy.  i need to be able to merge my employee's work with my own.  the sync is perfect for this, but not at the expense of ALL my historic data.  i've been using time master since 2009. 

help.


Title: Re: One Way Sync destroying my data
Post by: Adam on January 09, 2017, 09:53:22 pm
They sync always has to delete data.  I think what you will need to do is Restore prior to the delete.  On his device make sure there is no data.  That will probably require that he deletes the app and reinstalls so that there is no database with the delete log.  Then you will just need to enter any Clients, Projects, Tasks, ect. that need to be on his device.  He probably does not need the full list of everything that is on your device.  Just make sure that the Name (e.g. Client "short name", Project "Name") matches and you should be good to go.

If you have multiple employees, it may be worthwhile downloading the Import templates from our main website in the Time Master section.  You can fill them out in a spreadsheet program and then email to them for importing.