On-Core Software

Time Master - Android => General Discussion => Topic started by: thedave on September 04, 2016, 11:41:50 pm



Title: Remove all Time Entries or Duplicate Database Structure?
Post by: thedave on September 04, 2016, 11:41:50 pm
Hi there,

I'm looking for a way to delete all time entries from Time Matters.  Essentially, i'm looking to duplicate the structure of my time matters database for a new employee without giving them access to my billing records for the last 5 or 6 years (more?) that i've been using the program.

from that point on, i should be able to do a one-way sync from their device to mine to record their hours.

also, i'm planning on using the "category" field to keep track of who performed the work of a given time record.  is this the best way to do this, or do you have any other recommendations? 

thanks again for an amazing product.


Title: Re: Remove all Time Entries or Duplicate Database Structure?
Post by: Adam on September 13, 2016, 03:06:01 pm
Sorry for the late reply.  Just have them create any necessary Clients, Projects, Tasks, etc. on their device with the correct info (rate, etc).  The names must match exactly.  Then use one-way Sync from the start.  No need to delete anything.


Title: Re: Remove all Time Entries or Duplicate Database Structure?
Post by: thedave on September 14, 2016, 10:56:59 pm
there's enough clients in the database that i'd rather not have to do that if possible.  importing information definitely means fewer errors.  especially when you consider the joys of typing on a phone screen.

if that's what i have to do to make it work, i have a follow-up question:  do i have to add ALL the clients in the database, or just the ones he works on? does the version have to include all the info (email address, phone, etc.), or just client name and rate?

thanks


Title: Re: Remove all Time Entries or Duplicate Database Structure?
Post by: Adam on September 14, 2016, 11:45:09 pm
No, he would only have to add things (Clients, Projects, etc.) that he would work on.  I cannot remember if he adds it, since it would have a new "modification" date, if it overwrites your version on sync.  e.g. if he adds a Client with only the name, it would overwrite your Client record with that info, or it leaves it alone.  I do not remember the one-way sync rules.  If you can try it with just one record, that would be the way to go.  Do a Backup before you try it, so you could Restore worst case.


Title: Re: Remove all Time Entries or Duplicate Database Structure?
Post by: thedave on September 15, 2016, 09:27:07 am
thanks.  this sounds a lot easier than what i was contemplating.