On-Core Software

Time Master - Apple iOS => Time Master Usability Questions => Topic started by: Aniseedvan on February 24, 2013, 09:40:13 am



Title: Task rate defaulting to project rate
Post by: Aniseedvan on February 24, 2013, 09:40:13 am
Hi,

I am very new to the product so I am hoping this is a simple question,

I will be using this app on two different devices in two ways, firstly to track my traditional employment for my timesheets, and secondly (on a different device) my photography where I need to invoice and generate receipts.

My questions is for the latter. My photoshoots are a fixed rate, so I have set this against the project. I then want to track the tasks but not charge for these. If I say put 10.00 as the project rate, and 0.00 as the task, shouldn't adding the task mean it's displayed as 0.00 as the task rate should override the project one? The task is not tied to the project, as it's photoshop work I'll be doing for every client and project.

Thanks in advance...


Title: Re: Task rate defaulting to project rate
Post by: Adam on February 24, 2013, 10:43:32 am
No that is not how it works.  The rate system works as follows.  The Rate is determined in the following order:

Global -> Client -> Project -> Task -> Custom

With each level overriding the previous level.  So if you defined a Rate in the Task, that is the Rate that will be used.

Since it sounds like you want to use a Project Rate, do NOT put anything in the Task Rate.  Leave it blank (empty).  If you put 0.00 in it, it will change the rate of the Time Entry to zero.  You can still do Reporting on that Task if you desire.  Just do not put any rate in the Task at all.


Title: Re: Task rate defaulting to project rate
Post by: Aniseedvan on February 24, 2013, 01:04:38 pm
Thanks for the quick reply. I had out the project as fixed price (reusable). So i deleted everything and made the project just fixed price and the tasks default to global as you suggested. looks better now!